Group Captain Abhinandan to be awarded Vir Chakra today

Wing Commander (now Group Captain) Abhinandan Varthaman will be awarded the Vir Chakra today by President Ram Nath Kovind in an investiture ceremony.

Besides Varthaman, who remains one of the most celebrated officers of the IAF in the recent past, Sapper Prakash Jadhav will be presented the second-highest peacetime gallantry award Kirti Chakra (posthumously) for neutralising terrorists in an operation

ing Commander was engaged in a dogfight with a Pakistani fighter jet in the aerial skirmishes between Indian and Pakistani Air Forces that followed the Pulwama attack. He was promoted to the rank of a Group Captain on November 3, 2021.

Among other prominent names who will be awarded on Monday include- Param Vishisht Seva Medal (PVSM) for former Eastern Army Commander Lt Gen Anil Chauhan (Retd), Engineer in Chief Lt General Harpal Singh, Southern Navy commander Vice Admiral Anil Chawla.

Related Stories